Word of the Day!

People often times use the word, “Plain,” as an insult to others. If your cooking is plain…your food may lack taste. If you dress plain, you lack adornment. In other words, it lacks that ‘something,’ that gives it that something; that pop; that sets it apart from something like it.

Plain (adj.) is defined as lacking ornament; easily understood, But it is also defined as expressing oneself free of any attempt at deception or subterfuge; and marked by outspoken candor.

In this day and age of dressed up,  confusing, fuel-filled dialogue, painted with big words, reused banter, and half-truths, I would love to be considered “plain,” anytime. Communication, true communication,  should always be straight forward, open and honest; not distorted, behind the back, and lies. Who does it benefit? We are surrounded by those who would have us believe things they know in their heart is not true to win. Then when their words come back and bite them, it was the press that took their words out of context. It was the special interest group who distorted what they said. It was their opponent’s campaign that told half of what they said and left the rest, the gut of the statement, out. If plain, means that I shoot from the hip…tell you my true feelings in plain English where even my seven-year old granddaughter can tell you what I said and what I meant, then please characterize me as plain, thank you very much.

If being plain means that you get candid and bluntness out of my mouth and can understand what I am saying…then I have truly communicated with you. And whether you agree or not…you know, plain and simple what is on my heart.

Always SAY WHAT YOU MEAN. MEAN WHAT YOU SAY and always Know what you’re saying. Don’t try to confuse us with your educated banter, because sooner or later, it’s all going to come back. It’s just plain and simple.

About mspam1

I love Interior Design at 62, cannot think of anything else I would rather be doing. It is the right of every dweller to love where they ;live, no matter where and in what that may be in. The goal here is to introduce or reintroduce dwellers to their spaces, make them over and fall in love all over again. You don't have to live on Park Avenue to have a Park Place. There is where my talents begin.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

